Big Game Hunting Forum Sponsors

30-06 capabilities...

Discussion in 'Big Game Hunting Forum' started by olepal, Jun 13, 2018.

1. olepal

olepal Elite Refuge Member

Just looking for a few, understand - A FEW - thoughts on my 30-06. I am not a great prolific hunter but every whitetail deer I have shot at, died. Now, I MAY have an opportunity to go after a mulie or perhaps even an elk next year.
    All I have ever used is Remington Core-lokt 150gr sp or 165gr sp. Thoughts on that or maybe 180gr against the mulie or elk?

Thanks guys,

olepal

2. Native NV Ducker

Native NV Ducker Mod-Duck Hunters Forum, Classifieds, and 2 others Moderator Flyway Manager

The 165's are fine on mule deer. If you are going on a combined hunt, where your choice is whatever you see first (thus needing a gun loaded for both) definitely go with the 180's.

I probably killed 20 mule deer shooting 150's. All that I can recall dropped right there. Shot my largest while he was in his bed at about 300+ yards, and he never even stood up.

olepal likes this.
  3. Glades Ranger

Glades Ranger Elite Refuge Member

Hunted in RSA several times. Was told there that the 30-06 was fine for most game up to an eland. I took a fine bull kudu with a 30-06 and 180 gr. bullet. Used primarily a loaned Ruger single shot, also in other calibers, but the 30-06 was the workhorse. A great rifle- I have only one now, a Rem 700, and yes, in 30-06. In the lighter bullets, successfully took, warthog, impala, bushbuck, blesbuck.

olepal likes this.
  4. sdkidaho

sdkidaho Decoy, Gun Dog, Christian, Idaho, Montana/Wyoming Moderator Flyway Manager

Elk are tough critters that can go for miles, wounded. It's like anything else though - shot placement and it's dead. Dad never owned anything bigger than a 30-06 and killed elk, moose, antelope, deer and bear with it. I'd say your 180's should do great for both of what you asked about.

olepal likes this.
  5. markd

markd Elite Refuge Member