Code black duck

Discussion in 'Shooting - Reloading Forum' started by Kornfed, Dec 7, 2018.

1. Kornfed

Kornfed Senior Refuge Member

Picked one up the other day. Definitely can't hurt my shooting. I'll be using it out of my SuperNova. Any of you all shoot with one?

2. Squaller

Squaller Elite Refuge Member

No idea what it is?

3. Kornfed

It's a tube put out by patternmaster.

4. Teal Tags

Teal Tags Senior Refuge Member

Here it is

[​IMG]

pud123 likes this.
  5. Kornfed

Yeah, but mine came in camo.

ronaldo and Squaller like this.
  6. Squaller

Does the shot come out of there (as a spreader pattern), or do you pour extra shot in before shooting to create a better pattern density?

Tuleman likes this.
  7. Kornfed

I've been using factory chokes for damn near 40 years and saw this in a magazine, then watched Zink running one in some vid and boom! Hook line and sinker...but I'm still gonna try it out Saturday.

8. Birdcrazy

Birdcrazy Senior Refuge Member

Talk about covering the bird with the bead!:doh

9. awaldro7

awaldro7 New Member

you will like the code black. I shoot one out of my Affinity and have patterned it with several different loads and it patterned best with almost every single load vs my factory chokes.

10. Squaller

What ranges are you patterning? What size shot? When you say "patterned best," do you mean higher percentage pattern density or do you mean an even distribution of pellets throughout the pattern or both?

A choke that patterns really well at 40 yards (good pattern density with even distribution) will likely be too tight at 25-30 yards...

There is no single choke that will be ideal for all situations of water-fowling… Hunting tight/small tule ponds, I am going to shoot a more open choke than when shooting open water cause my shots will be further in the open water....