New "used" dog ... training an adopted lab ... questions

Discussion in 'Gun Dog Forum' started by DEC, Jun 12, 2018.

1. DEC

DEC Elite Refuge Member

Not my first rodeo, but I'm no pro trainer. My 13 year old female had to got to the Rainbow Bridge last winter. I currently have a nearly 6 year old female lab also who I trained and does pretty well. Both I trained first in OB, then on to whistle, hand signals, doubles, and basic duck/goose hunting dogs. Far from perfect, but acceptable to myself for our hunting fun. Great family dogs.

So life threw me a curve ball the other day. A phone call came in about a 15 month old female chocolate lab out of Soggy Acres Kennels in Wisconsin. Her owner had life issues (divorce, elderly father with health issues, had to get a second job, etc) and as bad as he didn't want to do it, he needed to find her a new home. So, with the blessing of my wife and teenage daughters, I took her in. She is a beautiful young dog with incredible blood lines and a world of potential. He hadn't done any hunt training. Life got in the way and basic OB is all. She sits, lays down, knows "no", is house broken, she crates, doesn't jump on furniture, and so far in the few days that I have had her she hasn't gotten into any trouble (though I haven't turned my back on her either). She is FULL of energy. A lack of handling, attention, and just the space that a young lab needs has been missing in her life. So far my older dog is dealing with it as well as can be expected and I am not seeing any long term problems, just some normal establishing who's turf and her dealing with a new 70# fire ball of energy. The long and short of it is that I can see it working out for us ... but not without challenges.