Rotocasting decoys

Discussion in 'Decoy Forum' started by Mjy17, Sep 10, 2017.

1. Mjy17

Mjy17 New Member

Hey everyone, new member here!
    I am looking for any help on what material to use for personal decoys that I am making. i have sculpted them (my dad is a potter so I have as much clay as I want) and made a silicone mold with a fiberglass mother mold but the product I bought from SMOOTH-ON is too rigid. It just turned into hard plastic. I am not looking for any secrets or anything because I have no interest in becoming a business. I am actually kinda new to waterfowl. I just want to build my spread. Any help would be great! Thank you!

2. Tuleman

Tuleman Elite Refuge Member

Buy a couple dozen Avian-X decoys. You'll have a higher-quality decoy that will be cheaper in the long run.
    BTDT.

3. Billy Bob

Billy Bob Elite Refuge Member

While that may be true there is a great satisfaction in making your own decoys. As a carver you understand that.

To the OP, Good luck with your project. I will be following this interesting post.

4. Tuleman

Tuleman Elite Refuge Member

I do know the satisfaction that comes from carving your own wooden decoys, in the classic style. I don't know how much satisfaction I'd get from making a plastic-shelled decoy in the style that is presently commercially popular.

To the OP, you might look into a two-part polyurethane.

5. Mjy17

Mjy17 New Member

Thank you!

6. Mjy17

Mjy17 New Member

Will do. Thank you!

7. Bender

Bender Elite Refuge Member