Skinned and Plucked... Time to Cook

Discussion in 'The Duck Hunters Forum' started by MJ, Jun 25, 2019.

1. MJ

MJ Administrator Moderator

You killed it, you either plucked or skinned it, now it's time to cook a meal. I have to admit, I'm a pretty boring cook when it comes to ducks and geese. I'm a sautéed duck strip or grilled breast kind of guy. I've roasted a few and always enjoyed the meal, but I know there are other ways to prepare them.

Anybody have a recipe they're willing to share? I know @pentail has a few he might be willing to post. Anyone else?

2. JohnBZ

JohnBZ Elite Refuge Member

Ive been looking for ideas myself. We have our duck blind drawing in a month. A few of us saved some birds for the predraw party. Trying to decide how we want to cook them to fuel up before the festivities.

3. dukkalr

dukkalr Elite Refuge Member Sponsor

I'd take a few breasts and cut into 1/4"ish strips, and drag em thru egg wash(optional) and roll in a flour dredge that has a good bit of garlic salt in it,,,,pan cook to desired doneness ,they are good hot but better when you put a bunch that has been cooked into bowl and throw em in the fridge, the flavor soaks thru them over night better,,,,,, eat em the next day cold,,, dang things are like eating popcorn,,,, first time I tried it that way my hunting buddy did it and brought a gallon baggie about 3/4 full to the blind,,, I couldn't sleep my hand out of them,,, been eating them like that ever since

4. pgquackstacker

pgquackstacker Senior Refuge Member

1. Pluck a duck with good fat
    2. Rub some olive oil on it, then squeeze some lime juice on it
    3. Season it with your preferred seasonings, I use Tony’s, pepper, garlic powder and Italian seasoning
    4. Throw it in the oven until 120, then kick it on broil for a few minutes to crisp the skin a little and you’re ready to eat

5. marsh man dan

marsh man dan Elite Refuge Member