Stump Jumper Or PPF

Discussion in 'Mud Motors' started by Rangerbob, Feb 11, 2019.

1. Rangerbob

Rangerbob Senior Refuge Member

To start this off I have never owned a mud motor so I have no actual experience with them. All I know is just the research I have done, mostly on the internet. But I have convinced myself that I need one for my latest boat purchase. I just picked up a Vantage PT duck boat made by Osagian Canoes. This hull has not been made in several years and I bought the last one the factory still had. It is 14' long with a 60" beam and 13 1/2" deep, and weighs 320#. According to the company literature loaded it will float in 3" of water. It is double ended kind of like the old Ducker but it does have a transom and is rated to 15hp. It is a displacement hull not a planning hull. I plan on using it for spring time shallow water crappie fishing and as a layout style marsh boat during duck season. I will be hunting with just me and my 70# lab and would not be traveling more than a mile. With all of that being said I have decided that a longtail with Predator 212 motor will push the boat about as fast as it can go. I have narrowed my choices down to either a PPF Woodduck or the Stump Jumper. One of my main requirements is ease of motor removal when switching back and forth from fishing to hunting mode. As I am older the lighter weight is also a big consideration.
    So my question is which of these 2 brands would be the best choice?

Thanks, Steve

2. johnskipper41

johnskipper41 Refuge Member

I run the stump jumper 7hp on o 1436jon boat. Great lil motor I hunt tidal marshes in Maryland eastern shore. You aren’t going to set any speed records but it gets the job done. My buddy has the ppf mud motor nice motor also I feel you can’t go wrong with either motor.

3. Tailfeathers

Tailfeathers Elite Refuge Member