Tule Seat/Dog Stand

Discussion in 'California Flyway Forum' started by Real Green, Jan 20, 2019.

1. Real Green

Real Green Elite Refuge Member

Has anyone come up with something that can pull double duty?

It amazes me how difficult it is to stay light and mobile on the refuge. These two items seem to be a big portion of the weight and bulk. It would be nice to cut it in half next year.

2. Drifly

Drifly Senior Refuge Member

Hi RG,

I’ve been using a table like this for years. I make them out of plywood and pvc pipe. This year I’ve hunted with 2 dogs on occasion so l built 2 different tables. The one I uses every day is a little longer and narrower with an aluminum bottom for extra strength. You can build one for about $25 to start with and make modifications over time. I’ve been using the same basic design for about 15 years. It’s big enough that both my dog and I use the same stand to sit on. Here’s a few pictures to demonstrate my design.

Yesterday in the marsh
    D37E8C20-8162-4C64-ABB4-B54E6D9D4CDF.jpeg
    Two dog tables fit in my cart
    CF2EE99E-280B-4CB7-9DD4-3E539789FDB8.jpeg
    2x2x3/4” plywood square with 1 1/2” pvc legs
    55F204F1-61AE-49C9-8D81-2EF172589B8D.jpeg
    This is Willow my hunting partner
    2E4556EF-6C77-4E9D-94E6-051356C5BCEA.jpeg
    It’s strong enough for both of us to sit on.
    9E2570D4-197A-4E41-AAA5-07BB33D4D5CD.jpeg
    It was difficult taking a selfie but I think you get the idea. I hope it works as well for you as it has for me. Good luck with your search.

Drifly

partyfowl and Real Green like this.
  3. Dan Mallia

Dan Mallia Elite Refuge Member

I had a Tule seat blow out (one of the crappy pot metal avery models) one morning and shared my dogs Sportstand. Wasn’t the most comfortable seat but worked in a pinch.

Buddy of mine had a dog stand custom built out of aluminum for two dogs that would easily work for what your looking for.

Real Green likes this.
  4. Squaller

Squaller Elite Refuge Member